Gym Pet Peeves

I love the gym. I look forward to going every single day and usually the last 3 hours of my work day I spend watching the clock tick away counting down the minutes until 5:30 when my workout begins.

This has really helped improve my math skills – 3:04? two hours and 26 minutes until my workout begins! 4:38? 52 minutes until the class starts!

While I always look forward to the gym, some days the choices fellow gym-goers make can really irritate me, almost to the point where I should be investing in yoga classes after my group fitness class just to bring my stress level back down to normal. I think the thing that bothers me the most is that some people just haven’t learned proper gym etiquette, which is fine – but when you are the only one slamming down your weights in between sets, it’s time to reevaluate what you are doing at the gym, buddy!

Here is a list of my biggest gym pet peeves from the last 10 years of being a gym rat:

  • Waiting for a workout class by standing outside of the group fitness room 5-20 minutes before the class starts. This, I just do not understand – if you are at the gym, shouldn’t you be doing something active while you are there?
  • As I eluded to above, throwing weights all over making very loud annoying noises. I know you are trying to lift heavy, and that is excellent, but you need to be controlling your movements – this is a gym now olympic weightlifting.
  • Space invaders. Group fitness classes can get pretty crowded but feeling sweat fly off of you is not really how I wanted to spend my dinner hour, so please look at your surroundings and be adaptable.
  • Grunting, oh the grunting! I don’t understand it. Again, I know you are lifting really heavy things, but this isn’t your own private gym – there are people around who don’t need to be bothered by your sexual sounds. 

Those are some of my biggest gym pet peeves, others include: not putting weights/equipment back where it belongs, horrible instructors and bad facility lighting.

What do you love and hate about the gym?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Gym Pet Peeves

  1. jesseb2013 says:

    OH-MY-GOODNESS … Glad I’m not the only ones with these pet hates! Personally I think if you are able to grunt that loud you clearly aren’t lifting enough haha. Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I may let a little ‘argh’ slip or maybe ‘f-bomb’ but i doubt anyone 2m away would be able to hear it! haha . Great POST!

  2. Sarah C says:

    Haha, I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who spends most of the day counting down the hours and minutes until I get to the gym. This makes me normal then, right? There are a lot of little things that get me, but the biggest ones are the people who just waste time (how did I do three sets of four different exercises, and you’ve still not finished one set of curls?!?) and who don’t clean up after themselves (yes, there are numbers on the weight racks for a reason … that’s where the corresponding weights go).

  3. Ashley says:

    Hi, I have loved reading your blog so far…came across it while browsing. Awesome!
    Hmm….pet gym peeve….Well, recently, I have noticed two young-ish girls coming into gym that seem to spend more time giggling and ogling the guys then actually doing work outs. Oh, and people who talk during gym classes. Once, a couple of people talked for the first half a cycle class. Clearly not working hard enough!
    What I love? Watching people push themselves to their absolute limits (without the grunting, of course!!!)…and my own personal knowledge that I have just done, or am doing, something awesome for my body 😀

Leave a Reply

